Big StoryCricket

Christchurch / New Zealand beat India by 7 wickets in second test, clean sweep in Test series after ODI

New Zealand defeated India by 7 wickets in the Christchurch Test on Monday. With this, I made a clean sweep of the series 2–0. India also lost by 10 wickets in the first Wellington Test of the series. After losing the toss in the match, India scored 242 runs in the first innings. While the New Zealand team was reduced to 235 runs. The Indian team, with a 7-run lead in the second innings, could manage only 124 runs. In this sense, the Kiwi team got a target of 132 runs. India made a clean sweep in the first 5 T20 series on New Zealand tour. New Zealand then defeated India 3–0 in the ODI series.

In the second innings, Tom Blendall (55 runs) of New Zealand was bowled by Jasprit Bumrah with the first half century of his career. Captain Kane Williamson was dismissed for 5 runs. Ajinkya Rahane took his catch off Bumrah. Tom Latham returned to the pavilion after scoring 52 runs. Umesh Yadav was caught by wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant. He formed a 103-run opening partnership with Blendall. Tom Latham scored 52, Tom Blendall scored 55 and Kane Williamson scored 5 for New Zealand. The only wicket taken by Umesh Yadav.

7 Indian batsmen could not touch the figure of ten
On the third day of the match, the Indian team started playing ahead with a score of 97 for 6 and a score of 90 runs. After this, the remaining players also returned to the pavilion within 34 runs. Cheteshwar Pujara scored 24 and India’s Ravindra Jadeja scored 16 runs in the second innings. At the same time, 7 batsmen could not touch the figure of ten. Mayank Agarwal 3, Ajinkya Rahane 9, Umesh Yadav 1, Hanuma Vihari 9, Rishabh Pant 4, Mohammed Shami 5 and Jaspreet Bumrah were all out for 4 runs. At the same time, Indian captain Virat Kohli failed to score big in the 22nd innings and returned to the pavilion after scoring 14 runs. He also could not touch the figure of ten in two innings of both tests.

India’s worst performance after 18 years
Our top-5 batsmen could score only 429 runs in the two-match Test series. This is our 18-year worst performance in a 2+ match series. Earlier in 2002, our top-5 batsmen scored 296 runs in New Zealand itself.

Kohli runs less than Shami in the series
In response, Team India did not start well. Mayank (3) and Prithvi Shaw (14) quickly returned to the pavilion. Kohli (14) failed once again. He was able to score just 38 runs in four innings of Tests. At the same time, Shami has scored 39 runs in 3 innings. Pujara (24) and Rahane (9) also failed.

16 wickets fell on the second day
On the second day of the Test, 16 wickets fell on Sunday. In the first two sessions, Indian bowlers took a lead of 7 runs in the first innings with 10 wickets. It felt that Team India has made a great comeback. But the New Zealand bowlers overturned the match with our 6 wickets in the last session. After this, at the end of the day’s play, Team India lost 6 wickets for 90 runs in the second innings.

Jamieson missed his first half-century
New Zealand’s first innings was all out for 235 on Sunday. Tom Latham scored 52, Kyle Jamison 49 and Tom Blendall 30. Jamieson shared a crucial 51-run partnership for the 9th wicket with Neil Wagner. However, he missed the first half-century of his career.

Shami took 4 and Bumrah took 3 wickets
Indian fast bowler Mohammed Shami took 4 wickets, Jaspreet Bumrah 3, Ravindra Jadeja 2 and Umesh Yadav took 1 wicket. BJ Watling and Tim Southee were dismissed by Bumrah in the same over. Ravindra Jadeja gave a clean bold to Colin de Grandhom for 26 runs. Earlier, Mohammed Shami got Henry Nichols caught by Virat Kohli as the 5th wicket. He scored 14 runs.

Both teams:

India: Virat Kohli (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Jaspreet Bumrah, Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Shami.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Blendall, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandholm, Kyle Jamison, Henry Nicholls, Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wicketkeeper), Tim Southee, Neil Wagner and BJ Watling

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *