Big StoryCricketSports

Pragyan Ojha announces retirement from all forms of cricket

Pragyan Ojha, who won the IPL in 2009, played 24 Tests, 18 ODIs and 6 T20Is during a 16-year-long career in professional cricket before retiring.

  • Pragyan Ojha played 24 Tests, 18 ODIs and 6 T20Is for India
  • Pragyan picked 113 wickets in Tests and 21 in ODIs
  • Ojha played for Deccan Chargers and Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League

India spinner Pragyan Ojha announced on Friday he will be retiring from professional cricket with immediate effect.

Pragyan Ojha, who made his international debut in 2008, played professional cricket for 16 years. Despite not featuring in an international fixture since 2013, Pragyan was playing domestic cricket until 2019.

The 33-year-old last played for India in 2013 during Sachin Tendulkar’s farewell Test against the West Indies in Mumbai. In all, he played 24 Tests between 2009 and 2013 in which he took 113 wickets.

“It’s time I move on to the next phase of my life. The love and support of each and every individual will always remain with me and motivate me all the time,” Pragyan Ojha posted on Twitter with a long message.

Ojha achieved World no. 5 as his career-best ranking in ICC Player Rankings and will be remembered as the first and one of the two spinners to ever win the Purple Cap in the Indian Premier League.

In December 2014 Ojha was barred from bowling in competitive cricket after his action was found to be illegal. Later on 30 January 2015 Ojha cleared the test and was allowed to resume his bowling. Ojha played his first One Day International match against Bangladesh on 28 June 2008 in Karachi and ended up with figures of 2/43.

“To be an Indian cricketer and represent the country at the highest level was always a dream I cherished as a youngster. “I fall short of words to describe how fortunate I have been to have lived my dream and earned the love and respect of my fellow countrymen,” he added.

Ojha played for Deccan Chargers and Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *