Big StoryHeadlines UKUK

Queen to appoint new prime minister at Balmoral

The Queen will not appoint the next prime minister in London, but will instead stay in Balmoral to do it, Buckingham Palace has said.

The new PM and Boris Johnson will go to Scotland, in a break from tradition for the event on 6 September.

During her 70-year-reign the Queen, 96, has had an audience with her new prime minister at Buckingham Palace.

It is understood that the decision was taken to provide certainty for the new prime minister’s diary.

The Queen has suffered from mobility issues and it is understood the change was made to prevent the need for any last-minute rearrangements.

Liz Truss or Rishi Sunak will be announced as leader of the Conservative Party on Monday, 5 September.

Boris Johnson is expected to announce his resignation to the Queen the following day, with his successor appointed by the monarch shortly after.

Buckingham Palace previously said the Queen would interrupt her stay at Balmoral to meet the new prime minister – the 15th of her reign.

Usually, the outgoing prime minister makes a statement outside Downing Street before taking their final trip as leader to meet the Queen at Buckingham Palace.

The monarch then formally dismisses them from their role.

Shortly after, the incoming PM is called up. When a potential prime minister is called to see the Queen, she will ask them whether they will form a government.

After the new PM has been appointed, the Court Circular will record that “the prime minister kissed hands on appointment”.

This is usually a handshake, and the actual kissing of hands will take place later at the Privy Council.

It is then the new leader’s turn to deliver a speech outside No 10.

Prime Ministers who have served during the Queen’s reign:

Tony Blair sits alongside Queen Elizabeth II in Buckingham Palace
Tony Blair is among the 14 prime ministers appointed by the Queen at Buckingham Palace
  • Winston Churchill, 26 October 1951 – 5 April 1955
  • Anthony Eden, 6 April 1955 – 9 January 1957
  • Harold Macmillan, 10 January 1957- 18 October 1963
  • Alec Douglas-Home, 19 October 1963 – 16 October 1964
  • Harold Wilson, 16 October 1964 – 19 June 1970
  • Edward Heath, 19 June 1970 – 4 March 1974
  • Harold Wilson, 4 March 1974 – 5 April 1976
  • James Callaghan, 5 April 1976 – 4 April 1979
  • Margaret Thatcher, 4 May 1979 – 28 November 1990
  • John Major, 28 November 1990 – 2 May 1997
  • Tony Blair, 2 May 1997 – 27 June 2007
  • Gordon Brown, 27 June 2007 – 11 May 2010
  • David Cameron, 11 May 2010 – 13 July 2016
  • Theresa May, 13 July 2016 – 24 July 2019
  • Boris Johnson, 24 July 2019 – present.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *