FIFA FIFPro Men’s World XI 2020 announced as five Premier League stars are named

Five Premier League stars have been named in the FIFA Best Team of the Year for 2020.

Liverpool are well represented in the all-star line-up with four of their players included.

One of those is Thiago Alcantara, though, who spent most of the year as part of Bayern Munich’s impressive treble-winning side.

Goalkeeper Alisson retains his place in the XI, while Trent Alexander-Arnold and Virgil van Dijk were selected in the back four, alongside Real Madrid captain Sergio Ramos and Bayern youngster Alphonso Davies.

Man City talisman Kevin De Bruyne makes up the Premier League contingent, partnering Thiago and his ex-Bayern teammates Joshua Kimmich in midfield.

Trent Alexander-Arnold earned a place in the FIFA FIFPRO Best XI
Trent Alexander-Arnold earned a place in the FIFA FIFPRO Best XI

It was unsurprisingly a case of the usual suspects in attack, as the three players nominated for the main award – Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Robert Lewandowski – lead the line, in a big snub to Champions League finalists Kylian Mbappe and Neymar.

That was arguably a less notable snub than the one to Bayern boss Hansi Flick, who, despite leading his side to three major trophies, was beaten to the Manager of the Year award by defending compatriot Jurgen Klopp.

Alisson’s inclusion in the Team of the Year may also raise a few eyebrows, given Bayern’s Manuel Neuer won the prize for the top goalkeeper in 2020.

The Best XI of the year is voted for by fellow professionals, though, while the individual awards are in the hands of fans, journalists and captains and coaches of national teams.

Former Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger was in attendance, and said of the line-up: ““When you are a little child you dream to be the best player in the world in your position and that’s an unbelievable achievement.

Do you agree with the FIFA Best XI? Have your say below.

Man City's Kevin De Bruyne was also included in the all-star line-up
Man City’s Kevin De Bruyne was also included in the all-star line-up

“Look at the front line… my friends, you made me suffer a lot, you all scored goals against my team!”

Lewandowski capped a breath-taking year by pipping both Messi and Ronaldo to the Best Player of the Year award.

Tottenham’s Son Heung-min was also among the night’s winners, topping the poll for this year’s Puskas Award following his mesmerising solo run against Burnley.

Man Utd striker Marcus Rashford too was commended for his tireless campaign fighting against child hunger, receiving the FIFA Foundation award for his remarkable efforts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *