Christchurch Test / India score 90/6 on second day, 97 runs lead over New Zealand; Kohli could score only 38 runs in 4 innings

The Indian team has scored 90 runs for 6 wickets in the second innings of the Christchurch Test against New Zealand. Team India had scored 242 runs in the first innings. In the match, New Zealand were able to score 235 runs in the first innings on Sunday. In this sense, India has a 97-run lead against the Kiwi team. Hanuma Vihari (5) and Rishabh Pant (1) are unbeaten. Captain Virat Kohli failed in the fourth consecutive innings of the series. He scored 2 and 19 in the Wellington match. While only 3 and 14 runs could be scored in this test. New Zealand lead 1-0 in the two-Test series.

New Zealand’s Trent Boult dismissed 3 Indian players Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara and Umesh Yadav. He lbw Mayank for 3 runs. Pujara was bowled by Bolt for 24 runs. At the same time, Umesh, who came to bat as a night watchman, was bowled on his ball by scoring 1 run.

Kohli lbw by Grandhom

Apart from these, Ajinkya Rahane was bowled by Neil Wagner for 9 runs. Kohli was lbw by Colin de Grandholm. Prithvi Shaw, who played a half-century in the first innings, returned to the pavilion early after scoring 14 runs. His catch was taken by Tom Latham off Tim Southee.

A 51-run partnership for the 9th wicket between Jamison-Wagner

In the first innings of New Zealand, Tom Latham scored 52, Kyle Jamison 49 and Tom Blendall scored 30 runs. Jamieson shared a crucial 51-run partnership for the 9th wicket with Neil Wagner. However, he missed the first half-century of his career.

Kohli has not scored a century since 69 days

This is the third time in Kohli’s cricket career, when he could not score a single century in all three formats (ODIs, Tests and T20s) for 69 days. During this period, Kohli played 22 innings in all three formats. The previous century, he scored 136 against Bangladesh in the Kolkata Test on 22 December. Earlier, Kohli could not score a single century in about 210 days from 25 February to October 2014 and in about 180 days from 24 February to September 2011.

Also, in the last 10 innings of all three formats, Kohli has scored only 204 runs. In the first innings of this match, Kohli was dismissed for 3 runs off 15 balls. He was lbw by Tim Southee. On the current New Zealand tour, the Indian captain scored only 180 runs in 7 ODIs and T20s, including only one half-century. Kohli scored 2 runs in the first innings of the Velintagan Test and 19 in the second innings. India lost the match by 10 wickets.

Shami took 4 and Bumrah took 3 wickets

Indian fast bowler Mohammed Shami took 4 wickets, Jaspreet Bumrah 3, Ravindra Jadeja 2 and Umesh Yadav took 1 wicket. BJ Watling and Tim Southee were dismissed by Bumrah in the same over. Ravindra Jadeja gave a clean bold to Colin de Grandhom for 26 runs. Earlier, Mohammed Shami got Henry Nichols caught by Virat Kohli as the 5th wicket. He scored 14 runs.

Jadeja jumped about 3 feet and caught

Shami sent 4 New Zealand players Latham, Henry Nicholls, Kyle Jamison and Neil Wagner to the pavilion. He first made Latham clean bowled. While playing 14 runs, Nichols was caught out by Kohli. At the same time, Ravindra Jadeja jumped 3 feet off Shami’s ball and caught Wagner. Shami sent Jamison to the pavilion as the last wicket. Rishabh Pant took his catch.

5 Indian batsmen could not touch the figure of ten

After losing the toss on Saturday, the Indian team was reduced to 242 runs in the first innings. India’s 5 batsmen could not touch the figure of captain Virat Kohli (3) Mayank Agarwal (7), Ajinkya Rahane (7), Ravindra Jadeja (9) and Umesh Yadav (0). While Prithvi Shaw scored 54, Hanuma Vihari 55 and Pujara scored 54 runs. At the same time, Kyle Jamison, playing his second match for New Zealand, took 5 wickets for the first time in his Test career. While Tim Southee and Trent Boult got 2–2 wickets. Another success was achieved by Neil Wagner.

This 3 players missed out on turning fifties into centuries

Despite a good start, Prithvi Shaw, Pujara and Vihari could not convert their half-century innings into centuries. Pujara’s 25th half-century of Test career was caught by BJ Watling off the ball of Jamison. Vihari was dismissed by Neil Wagner for his fourth half-century. He was caught by wicketkeeper BJ Watling. At the same time, Prithvi Shaw returned to the pavilion with the second half of his Test career. Latham took his catch off Jamison. Prithvi Shaw shared a 50-run partnership for the second wicket with Pujara.

Apart from these, Rishabh Pant was bowled by making 12 balls. At the same time, Mohammed Shami was dismissed by 16 runs as the last wicket. He was bowled by Trent Boult. Shami shared a 26-run partnership for the 10th wicket with Jaspreet Bumrah (10).

Both teams:

Indian team: Virat Kohli (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Jaspreet Bumrah, Umesh Yadav and Mohammad Sharma.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Blendall, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandholm, Kyle Jamison, Henry Nicholls, Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wicketkeeper), Tim Southee, Neil Wagner and BJ Watling.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *