What is following?
Following someone on Twitter means:
You are subscribing to their Tweets as a follower
Their updates will appear in your Home timeline
That person is able to send you Direct Messages
What are followers?
Followers are people who receive your Tweets. If someone follows you:
They’ll show up in your followers list
They’ll see your Tweets in their Home timeline whenever they log in to Twitter
You can start a private conversation with them
How do I know who I’m following?
Click Following on your profile or home page to see who you’ve followed, displayed in a following list. You can unfollow accounts from that page if you don’t want to follow them anymore.
Want to follow someone new? Learn how to follow others.
How do I know who is following me?
The followers link on your profile page or home page will show you how many followers you have and who they are. By default, Twitter sends you an email to let you know when someone new follows you. Set up your email preferences to notify you when you have a new follower or to turn these notifications off.
Can locked accounts affect follower counts?
Yes. When accounts are locked, we remove them from follower counts across profiles globally. As a result, if an account that follows you is locked, the number of followers displayed on your profile may go down.
How do I get followers? Can I ask someone to follow me?
There is no way to send a request for other people to follow you on Twitter.
Avoid third-party applications that promise to get you a lot of followers, these apps usually violate our Terms of Service and may lead to account suspension.
The best way to gain friends and fans on Twitter is to engage with people, follow others whose Tweets are interesting or meaningful to you, and be an active part of the Twitter community by reading and posting high-quality information.
Can I restrict who follows me, or sees my updates?
Yes. You can protect your Tweets.
Protecting your Tweets means anyone who wants to follow you must submit a request for your approval. Only followers you approve can see your protected Tweets and your Tweets will not appear in search engine results.
How do I approve followers?
If you have protected your Tweets, you can approve followers from your account profile page.
Once I start following someone, can I stop?
Yes. You can unfollow other accounts at any time. Twitter does not send a notification when you unfollow someone.
If you have requested to follow someone whose Tweets are protected, then change your mind, you can cancel to undo your follow request. (The Cancel button appears on their profile in the same place as the Follow button.)
I don’t want a particular person to follow me. What should I do?
We recommend you block that account from following you. They won’t be able to follow you and you will see a blocked icon when you visit their profile. To unblock an account you’ve blocked, visit their profile and click or tap the block icon.
Your Tweets won’t appear in their timeline, and if they visit your profile, they will not be able to see any of your Tweets.
Is following the same as friend-ing someone on other social networks?
No. Following on Twitter isn’t mutual. Someone who thinks you’re interesting can follow you, and you don’t have to approve it or follow them back.
If you want to approve who follows your Tweets, protect your Tweets. The same rules apply—you can approve followers, but you don’t have to follow them back.
What are “follow limits”?
Twitter has follow and update limits for site stability and to control abuse.
I have a follower who posts spam or porn. Help!
Learn how to report spam on Twitter.
Learn how to report inappropriate content.